Ram, South Woodchester, Gloucestershire   1 comment

Ram South Woodchester sign

The fun part of the run was all over and with the starvation rations of beer allowed by the less-than-friendly staff at the Britannia quickly dispatched I headed back toward Stroud. A few miles along the path I spotted the sign directing A46 travellers to the Ram in South Woodchester and figured if it’s good enough for them then it’s good enough for me.

 

Ram South Woodchester menu

Actually, it’s quite good enough for anyone and worth the steep-but-short climb to the pub (ignore this if you’re driving). There’s loads of beer and cider to choose from and a pleasant crew eager to serve it to you despite being overrun with the Sunday lunch crowd. Out at the picnic tables the threat of showers and the cool breeze meant that I had the views of the valley to myself and I snuck a few bites of the sandwich I packed for my lunch and washed it down with some lovely Elmer’s as I studied the map for slight variations to my route (which I found…trails that led me by an old manor house and the remains of an ancient church and right up to the Royal Oak, my next stop).

Ram South Woodchester

ram-map

One response to “Ram, South Woodchester, Gloucestershire

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Royal Oak, Woodchester, Gloucestershire | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

