Old Bear, Staverton, Wiltshire   2 comments

Old Bear Staverton

Does a bear shit in the woods?  Well, this one shits on the entire 1000 year history of British pubs.

My last planned stop before heading up the canal to  return to Devizes, The Old Bear Inn looked promising but the staff was fucking hopeless.  Sure, it was three deep at bar (me last, a guy ahead of me, and a guy ahead of him) but there were at least eight on staff and even the boss could only take/serve/cash-out one order at a time — I would refer him to the gent running the Clothier’s Arms in Stroud if I thought it would do any good but the man seemed to think he was doing just fine (he had an unearned air of superiority and confidence about him that was belied by his utter incompetence).  So, ten minutes after arriving I finally got my overpriced cider and felt like I really needed a better experience to end the day on…so it was off to the King’s Arms!

old-bear-map

Posted March 17, 2015 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

