Volunteer Inn, Great Somerford, Wiltshire   1 comment

Volunteer Inn Great Somerford sign

I wondered if the Volunteer was open as I approached from the north. The door was ajar but there were no signs of life as I settled onto a chair at the bar. In due course, a woman appeared and looked surprised to see me there. “Can I help?” she chirped unconvincingly.

“3 B’s,” I answered as it was the third Arkell’s house out of the four pubs on the route.

Poured and paid, she sauntered off to look at a handheld device a few feet away. A fellow emerged from the kitchen and they had some terse words that assured me they each wished the other harm. She reached under the counter for another handheld device, logged on, and started playing some pop racket on the public address system.

That’s what the day was like…first pub actively disliked me, second one ignored me, third one treated me like a long-lost and wealthy uncle in ill health, and this one turned on itself. Freaky.

Volunteer Inn Great Somerford

vol-map

 

Posted March 23, 2015 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “Volunteer Inn, Great Somerford, Wiltshire

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Running Week in Review 22 March 2015 | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

