Running Week in Review 31 May 2015   5 comments

Last week here, and

Next week here

2015-05-31 weekly run chart

Another week with less mileage than I had planned but Jackie took Saturday off work for my birthday so that day was a bit curtailed (just a quick 8.6 mile loop before breakfast).  On the day I was born between Lake Blackshear and the infamous Andersonville Civil War Prison, by the way, John Glenn splashed down from the first American space flight, Adolf Eichmann was having his last meal ahead of the gallows the next day, and six weeks later the Beatles played a show in Swindon (home girl Diana Dors features on the cover of Sgt Pepper’s).  Kennedy had a little more than a year-and-a-half to live, the Cuban Missile Crisis was months away, LSD was still legal and segregation the law of the land across my native Deep South…I’m ancient.

beatles in swindon

Yes, we’re going to a party party

Additionally, 5 weeks into treatment of a small surface lesion (another superficial BCC) with a cream that stimulates the production of interferon a much larger area has erupted and started oozing; I’ve been running a fever with body aches and sensitive-to-painful skin (common side effects) for more than a week now and the open wound sticks to my running garments.  One more week and the healing can start (and I can ramp the mileage up where I had hoped to be at the start of Summer); the medicine has a biological half-life of about 30 hours and the induced interferon should clear the system in about 2 weeks.

Aldara treated BCC spread

We caught three movies during the week.  Of Time and the City was a fantastic remembrance of Liverpool in the 50’s and 60’s made up entirely of documentary film clips and a literary narrative.  On Saturday we doubled up with We Need To Talk About Kevin (which eerily parallels the reasons we never wanted children) and, to lighten the mood after that bleak family film, Seven Psychopaths.  Both of us were ill (me with the cancer induced side order of lurgy and she with actual flu) but somehow got through a bottle of champagne and an entire box of chenin blanc.faringdon benches

Faringdon is eternally weird

Faringdon is eternally weird

So, the next morning I was a bit shakier than the meds alone have been making me, and I carefully planned a run from Faringdon out to the Thames Path to Kelmscott (where Morris and Rossetti camped out for a few years).  I was running a bit slow but the pace was perfect to bring me to the front door of the Plough at Noon:02 just after the opening times I got off the CAMRA online entry for the pub (although it is listed as 11:30 the rest of the week).  Here was the sign that greeted me:

Plough Kelmscott opening times

Shit.  And, it was raining lightly the entire run and the wind was fierce and seemed to shift to stay in my face the entire 3 hours.  And, when I reached Coles Hill I couldn’t find any sign of the North Wilts HHH trail and had to consider it a no-go.  Depressing.

2015-05-31 faringdon kelmscott coles hill run

Leave a Reply

