Whole Hog, Malmesbury, Wiltshire   3 comments

Whole Hog Malmesbury

I left the Horse and Groom with a pub targeted on a road called Holloway a few miles away just before the hill into Malmesbury.  When I last spotted it, I had another in mind and was there a little too early to get served, anyway; it looked like a great boozer at the time but as I reached the bottom of the Holloway I could already smell the curry — it had transformed into an Indian restaurant.  Shit, first a restaurant masquerading as a pub, now a pub-to-restaurant transformation…I must be living my life wrong.  I decided to just sell my soul completely and go to the Whole Hog, which I had avoided because it looks like it is, and always would be, a restaurant.

Surprised, again: a proper pub awaited, packed to the rafters and with a queue at the public bar to the front door.  Good ales on, I opted for the Pheasant Plucker cider instead and took a seat in the windows looking out on the square.  While I sat there, the sun burned through the clouds which had been pissing a light mist the last 18 miles.  Maybe I’m not living such a bad life, afterall.

Here’s a map.

 

Posted July 20, 2015 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

