Castle, Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire   2 comments

Castle Bradford-on-Avon sign

Bradford-on-Avon is truly gorgeous built as it is of golden Cotswold stone on hills climbing up from the River Avon.  The last time I was in town it was freezing & pissing down rain and I was still utterly charmed, so to catch a perfect summer day on a return visit required at least a loop through town.  I left the George at 11:30 convinced I was too early for any other pubs and was just going to stop by a few to see if their posted hours included any weird closing times; the first I came upon, though, was the Castle Inn which was already open and serving, at least, tea to the ladies taking in the rays on the porch.

And, for the second time in a row I had found a gastropub that remembers that it is, in fact, a pub as well as a restaurant (and B&B … a fact I have filed away for another visit).  There were at least five ales on the pumps only one of which I was familiar with so I got an amber ale (according to the pump clip) and headed out.  I should have noted the name of this brilliant beer as it had a heavier, malty mouth and a bit darker colour than you might expect from a golden ale.  Not overly hopped, it revealed a panoply of flavours slowly from the first sip to the last.

I could have lingered here all day, save for the fact that I just had time enough to get back to Trowbridge, grab a snack and one more pub, and hop the bus home.  So, the descent to the Avon valley and southward commenced.

Here’s the map link.

Castle Bradford-on-Avon

Posted August 23, 2015 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

