Crown, Cholderton, Wiltshire   Leave a comment

Crown Cholderton sign

The run had been wet with a fine, cool mist as I trundled past the closed-for-the-day Boot then continued on toward the Crown.  Just as I reached the sign welcoming me to Cholderton, the clouds parted and the sun shone through for the first time in a couple of days.  Perhaps things were looking up.

As mentioned earlier, I found the front pub door bolted and sought another entrance.  Finding none, I returned to the front to decide what to do next when an unhappy young woman pushed open the door.

In honour of the weather, I chose a pint of something labeled ‘Thunder’ and received it from one of the cheerless women behind the bar.  It must have been something I had done because they were cheery and helpful to the four middle-class walkers that came in behind me.  The pint was tasty, but marred by the complete lack of hospitality (but on the bright side, at least it was overpriced).

Here’s a map.

Crown Cholderton

 

Posted September 19, 2015 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

