Two Tunnels Greenway, Bath   3 comments

Two Tunnels entrance point

The last day before travel, I was packed and all arrangements were already made so I had time to kill. Originally, I planned to go to Bath for a G-Had against the Kennet & Avon Hash House Harriers who were setting trail a little north of the city (but within an easy run from the rail station); heavy rain was forecast (and eventually arrived) which was going to trash both their trail and my improvements so I opted to go with a semi-sheltered tourist run, instead.

Two Tunnels view of Bath

The Two Tunnels Greenway is a rails-to-trails project that includes two long subterranean segments (one a little over a quarter-mile and the other slightly over a mile. Leaving town, it is on a steady grade up hill but is overtaken by mountains through which the tunnels were bored. It is dead smooth leaving the city and even on the farm tracks a few miles away it is pleasant running and would appear to be easy cycling.

I was very lucky with the rains. A downpour started as I dashed into the first tunnel and sun had already broken through, momentarily, by the time I exited a couple of minutes later. Same again with the 8 minute stretch through the long tunnel, and the showers returned when I stopped for a cider at the Hope and Anchor a bit further on (only to abate when I turned in my glass).Two Tunnels 1

About an eighth of a mile into the long tunnel I heard what sounded like a distant train horn resonating down the tunnel. Someone on a bike must have one of those wooden train whistles, I thought but it seemed to continue after the cyclists approaching passed. At about a quarter-mile, I spotted some intermittent lights at the sides of the tunnel in little alcoves and the music appeared to be in sync with those. Turns out, there are 17 of these spread out along the middle half mile of the tunnel and they add something positive to the experience (as much for being there without explanation as for being there at all).

 

No 10 mile run on a day off would be complete without a couple of new pub visits and, with some work, I managed a couple. HARD work, it turned out as I found that the Moorfields was locked with no hours posted,

moorfields bath closed

the Rising Sun appears to be flats, and

rising sun bath flats

the Victoria and

 

 

charmbury arms bath closed

the Royal Oak open later than when I was passing by:

royal oak bath closed

The dance card was eventually filled with the Hope and Anchor (1 on the map), the Trowbridge House (2), the Hop Pole (3), the Thief (4), and the New Inn (5) with a reasonably good fish lunch just next door.

2015-09-16 Two Tunnels annotated

 

Posted September 25, 2015 by Drunken Bunny in Running, Tourism

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

