Hungerford to Newbury out-and back (with loops)   5 comments

2016-06-04 Hungerford Newbury run

The Saturday run started at Hungerford five minutes earlier than planned and the first leg was ½ mile shorter than I estimated so I arrived in Newbury before 11am (when the first planned pub, the Lock, Stock and Barrel, opens); but, there were two Wetherspoons (which start serving drinks from 9 am) just off the market so I opted for the Diamond Tap.

My next target was uphill in Stockcross but was boarded up so I had to wait around for the Rising Sun to open at noon (or so).

Out of there, it was country roads back downhill to Marsh Benham and the Red House then back onto the towpath to Kintbury and the Dundas Arms.

Famished and a bit tipsy, I looped outward at the first bridge to return to Hungerford via the top of the southern part of town where I knew there was a chippy but didn’t know that it closed at 2pm; instead, I headed down to the John O’Gaunt for a hearty pint of stout ahead of the bus home.  [Note: links to the pubs will be added as I write them up.]

Five new pubs, almost 20 miles, and some fresh air…success!

 

Leave a Reply

