Nag’s Head, Abingdon, Oxfordshire (pub #1498)   1 comment

Nag's Head Abingdon sign

 

When I first started visiting Abingdon, the Nag’s Head had been closed down for a while, which is a shame.  In the centre of one of the oldest market towns in the country AND on an island in the midst of the River Thames is just the start of the boxes this venue ticks.  Too bad the staff are arrogant and rude, as this house and the beer garden are simply gorgeous.

 

Nag's Head Abingdon mild

 

I arrived drenched with sweat after nearly ten miles’ slog from Oxford, much of it along the Thames Path in high humidity and in what passes for high temperatures, here.  I carried the Black Prince mild — as rich and full-bodied as the pump clip boasts — to a quiet bit of the beer garden and exchanged as much of my wet clothing for dry as I could without complete nudity.  Boats mosied past and the early evening couldn’t have been more grand.

 

Nag's Head Abingdon by the Thames

 

With just a few sips left, I headed in to use the loo as a changing room and one of the staff followed along but she stopped and leaned against a handrail outside.  She was still there when I emerged in my clean, dry trousers…I guess she thought I was up to something because she then followed me back as I returned my now empty glass to the bar (without so much as “thank you” or “kiss my ass” or any other acknowledgement from either of the bartenders standing there).  What a bunch of assholes.

 

Nag's Head Abingdon

nags-head-map

 

Posted June 23, 2016 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “Nag’s Head, Abingdon, Oxfordshire (pub #1498)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Brewery Tap, Abingdon, Oxfordshire (pub #1498) | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

