Royal Oak, Harrow, Middlesex ( #August2016PubPerDay number 28)   2 comments

Royal Oak Harrow

 

I wanted a pub but I was also starved so I bypassed the Royal Oak whilst hunting a chippy and a less-modern-looking and more intimate bar.

Finding neither in 15 minutes wandering this part of Harrow which makes it seem like Northwest London’s answer to Swindon, I doubled back to the Oak which, it turned out, is only externally (and at street level) an industrial box. Inside, you can still see the ancient timbers and the outline of a fine, old inn.

It’s a Greene King (Barras) and caters to the sort of folks that are going to congregate at a shopping centre pub adjacent to a Network Rail/London Underground/Bus Station: business and sales colleagues involved in the team building exercise of enforced joviality: “Pardon me, luv; I’d like to order a tray of double shots of vodka. Now, pour them over me and set me alight. Don’t dial the ambulance until you are sure I don’t have to return to my ‘mates.'”

One of the more challenging August 2016 Pub Per Day Challenge write-ups.

 

Royal Oak Harrow bar

 

2 responses to “Royal Oak, Harrow, Middlesex ( #August2016PubPerDay number 28)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Tube Stations (Catch Up 2016-08-20) | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

  2. Pingback: August Runs and the Pub Per Day Challenge Review | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

