Case is Altered, Eastcote, Middlesex ( #August2016PubPerDay number 63)   1 comment

The Case Is Altered Eastcote sign

 

At The Case Is Altered, I ordered an Oakham Citra and while the kid behind the bar was pumping it I caught a glimpse of the waitress off my left shoulder wrinkling her nose. “Mustn’t sneer. It’ll be good, I’m sure;” I was sure and I was right: the citra hops impart a grapefruit like bitterness that is just grand on a late summer’s evening. Still, she ran away and I paid up and explored the house a bit.

 

The Case Is Altered Eastcote beer

 

It’s a smaller pub on the inside than it looks from without…sort of a reverse TARDIS. The small, dark, and ancient dining hall looks a spectacular place for a winter lunch since the dreariest January afternoon will be bright as Summer on the Riviera afterwards. Atmospheric, to be sure.

 

The Case Is Altered Eastcote dining room

 

It is adjacent to a cricket ground and I wondered if that had anything to do with the weird name but couldn’t reconcile it with the pub signage and as the rains came I forgot to ask before dashing back to my evening run. I looked it up and found many references to a comedy ostensibly by Ben Jonson (which would jibe with the age of this grand house) but I found this other reference that I so WANT to be true. In this story, soldiers fighting Napoleon had been billeted in the ‘house on a hill’ in Spain (or ‘La Casa Alta’) and, accents and misunderstandings being what they are around here, this got butchered to ‘The Case Is Altered.’

 

The Case Is Altered Eastcote

 

One response to “Case is Altered, Eastcote, Middlesex ( #August2016PubPerDay number 63)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: August Runs and the Pub Per Day Challenge Review | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

