G Kelly Eels and Pies, Bow, London   4 comments

g-kelly-eels-and-pies-yum

 

Oh, this is the best thing ever.  Or, maybe the stewed eels surpass jellied ones but they didn’t have any hot today.  In fact, the server had to disappear into the back for 5 minutes to dig these out for me but my god they are worth the wait.

 

g-kelly-eels-and-pies-counter

 

G. Kelly has been at this trade for 79 years, now, and even with the eels now all coming from Holland this is really a treat I would recommend for every visitor to London.  I felt energised after this although I probably should have put a little more chilli vinegar on to kill the fishy taste of the aspic.  Fortunately, The Albert was right across the street waiting to sell me some beer to rinse my palate.

 

g-kelly-eels-and-pies

Posted September 14, 2016 by Drunken Bunny in Fish and Chips, Food

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.