Last Run In Britain (As A Foreigner)   4 comments

It caught my attention, but the truck was a let down

This caught my attention, but the truck was a let down

 

I took Tuesday off work to go for a bit of a run/pub crawl, to eat some local cuisine, and to think about my last day as a foreigner in Britain.  By the time this publishes Wednesday morning, the metamorphosis will have begun.  When it is official, I’ll post a brief message here (and add a link to it for those that find this article months or years later).  In the meantime, I managed to add 6 more pubs to the list as well as another jellied eel and chippy fish to that map all in a little under 7 miles jogging through the hottest September day here in the last 50 years…glorious.

 

mile-edn-park-from-mile-end-station

Mile End Park just ahead, left out of Mile End Station

 

The run was typical: get lost, see unexpected shit, find a place to drink, regroup, repeat.  It did sort of arrange itself into segments without any prompting from me, though.

 

Segment 1, Victoria and Albert:

2016-09-13-segment-1-va-and-eels

 

Hopped off the tube at Mile End Station and headed to Mile End Park to sip a beverage at the Palm Tree which turned out to be closed until much later in the day (see Segments 2 and 3, as this recurred frequently).  I bailed on this one and went to the nearby Victoria, asked for and got directions to an eel shop, dined on these Victorian treats in the market, then washed the fishy aftertaste out of my mouth at the Albert.

canal-under-there-somewhere

There’s water under that mat of algae and garbage, but I didn’t fancy a swim to prove it

 

 

Segment 2, Literature:

2016-09-13-segment-2-literature

 

I suffered a bit of misdirection through a park then spotted a couple of promising bars but passed on those to take in the Hemingway, not for the sake of Papa but to try to get the song Hemingway’s Shotgun out of my head (get the version by Eric Taylor if you dare).  However, it was closed so I ran on towards the Cat & Mutton (thinking then of the trimmings from sheep’s kidneys Leopold Bloom tosses to his cat in the opening bits of Ulysses); it was also closed…shit. However, whilst wandering aimlessly in this wilderness, I found Edgar’s (named after Edgar Allen Poe, a nice tie in to my new neighbourhood) and while downing a pint there spotted a poster for The Sun Also Rises (and so I was back to The Hemingway).

 

hemingway-closed

The Hemingway…you’d think THIS pub would be open early to treat hangovers but NOOOOOOOOOOOO.

 

de-beauvoir-road

More literature appeared later on the run…

 

edgars-hackney-sun-also-rises

…and endless coincidence.

 

Segment 3, The Late Opening Time Desert:

2016-09-13-segment-3-closed-pubs-everywhere

 

Already disappointed three times — as many times as I had been successful on this trip — I next ran into a streak of bad bar luck in which every pub was closed (and the same two horse coppers seemed to keep turning up at the next one on):

baring-arms-closed

Closed

 

dukes-closed

Closed

 

rosemary-branch-closed

Closed

 

stags-head-closed

Closed

 

Segment 4, Film Club:

2016-09-13-segment-4-the-cinematic-run

Emerging from the Closed Pub Desert, I might have called this the Segment With No Name (a little Sergio Leone reference) for the heat and curious townsfolk I encountered.  But, my first open bar after the hitless drought was the Hitchcock-themed North By Northwest, then followed up with the Marquess Tavern (a bar that could have been the set of some Jennifer Anniston or Reneé Zellweger offence against cinema.  The segment and the day’s run finished, after more seafood, at a pub made out of an actual old cinema (a few doors down from the Joe Meek apartment/recording studio that I ran to a year or so ago — and, I never would have known who HE was except for Telstar: The Joe Meek Story, a movie I highly recommend).

joe-meek-plaque-holloway-road

Much improved photo since the previous jog past here

Leave a Reply

