Hung, Drawn and Quartered, City of London   1 comment

hung-drawn-and-quartered-london

 

I got lost after the Old Nick  on my “Crime Run” and wound up much deeper in the East End than I really planned for that time of night but eventually found my way back to the part of Tower Hill where the gallows once stood.  This is where the Hung, Drawn & Quartered earned its name.

 

hung-drawn-and-quartered-london-bar

 

I might as well still been at the Old Nick, though, just substituting the Law Losers for the crowd of Banker Wankers I found at this house.  And, like at the earlier pub, the experience had so much potential wet-blanketed by their presence (but this is the financial district and that is the legal centre and what-are-ya-gonna-do?).

 

hung-drawn-and-quartered-london-bar-2

 

A young couple came in as I was finishing a very well presented and not unusually expensive (for the area) beer.  They seemed to be visiting the city and looking for a good meal at a reasonable price (and I think they had found it here despite the crowd).  As I had weaselled into the best two seat table between one pair of bloodsuckers and another that had eyed up that piece of real estate and then hovered around like they could leverage me out of it, I grabbed the fellow’s arm and, locking eyes with his missus, said that this was probably the best deuce in the house.

“Are you sure?” they both asked.

Draining my glass and smiling broadly at one of the suits as both their shoulders slumped, “never more than at this very moment.”

 

hung-drawn-and-quartered-london-pepys

Posted September 30, 2016 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , ,

One response to “Hung, Drawn and Quartered, City of London

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: London A to Z Runs : C | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

