Jolly Gardeners, Lambeth, London   1 comment

jolly-gardeners-lambeth

 

The old guy at the corner was giving me the snake eye (or is it the evil eye) as I tried to photograph the Jolly Gardeners (for another view of his perch, there’s currently a good google street view here).  As I tried to enter, he fingered me in the chest and jerked his head back at the place.

 

“This is a listed building!”
“It’s grand, yes,” I answered and tried to continue in. He gave a blank look and shook his head almost imperceptibly.
“It’s spectacular,” I tried again. Nothing.
“Good? Can I say it’s ‘good’?” Still blank. I gave a goofier than normal grin and put both of my thumbs up by my face.
“This is a listed building,” he informed me, but this time he gave me more to work with. “Grade 2, it is. They can’t do nothing to the outside or change its name or nothing.”
I pointed to the Zeitgeist logo in the window.
“They call that ‘the inside.’ And, it’s all German in there.”
“They should list this building. I’ll see you in there.”

 

jolly-gardeners-lambeth-detail

 

He was as good as his word, though.  It was all German inside with 20 taps of nothing but German beer (and very good ones at that).  Generally, they are £5 per pint but there is a beer of the day each day that is only £4 (I didn’t think I wanted a Franziskaner until I spotted this discount).  They even serve German grub: I saw a fantastic mound of sausages on cabbage go to a table near me.  Definitely on my short list (and I’m sure I’ll see my buddy there again…he’s been using this pub as his local since the early 60’s when it looked more like this linked photo).

 

jolly-gardeners-lambeth-bar

Posted October 30, 2016 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

One response to “Jolly Gardeners, Lambeth, London

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: London A to Z Runs : F | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

