Trader’s Inn, St John’s Wood, London   3 comments

traders-inn-st-johns-wood

The market on Church Street was breaking up as I arrived with a few people still trying to buy stuff while the traders were trying to dismantle their displays. I balanced the phone on a bin for the external photo then followed a guy into the packed Trader’s Inn. There was a tempting wall of whisky but I had an advent stout or porter to drink for the day and, with four pub stops planned, figured I should knock this one out here; “Guinness, please,” although the Advent beer for the day eventually came at the Green Man.

 

traders-inn-st-johns-wood-pint

While the stout settled, I got roped into a conversation on the merits (or lack thereof) of ice. This spell was broken when an Irish accented bar lady slid my pint between us and said, “Good tings come to dose who wait.” She was right, but then my barmate went back to his table and didn’t invite me along.

This is really my kind of place: local to a fault — I was probably the only person in there (aside from the girls tending bar) who had been in the neighbourhood less than 50 years.  This is definitely a top contender for where we’ll ring in the New Year.

traders-inn-st-johns-wood-bar

traders-map

 

Posted December 11, 2016 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

