Tap Social, Oxford   2 comments

tap-social-oxford

One of the problems with sharing strong opinions with the world is that someone who has some affiliation with the object of your passion may take the opinion as an affront.  It would probably sting less if the editorial commentary was delivered with a bit less smarmy tone, but the very few people who read this would be disappointed if it wasn’t there (especially in response to something like this).   Among the small readership, I usually get publicans and other business proprietors/proprietresses for an entry or two after they find out that their venue has appeared here.  Believe me,  my opinion holds no more sway here than it does at work (where the fuckers should actually listen to me).

tap-social-oxford-bar-back-and-brewery

 

So, if I gave the Tap Social a bad review it might actually be better for them than what I am about to lay down more concisely than that cryptic lead paragraph.  Better still are the ones about places that made so little impression on me that I just make shit up.  I can’t do that here.  The house is flawless.  Go there the next time they are open and you’ll probably make regular stops from then on (check the website…they are open tonight, and then again on the 27th and 28th of January 2017 with future dates pending).

tap-social-oxford-thirds

 

Now, it’s not a pub, per se … yet.  It doesn’t even have regular opening days, much less regular opening hours.  It is so open-plan that the warehouse blends into the 1000 liter brewery (yeah, it is a microbrewery, as well), and those are only distinguishable from the pubby area by a large carpet rolled out in front of the rudimentary bar.

 

tap-social-oxford-beer-plates

 

Their product is especially grand, too.  I was met at the door by the Head Brewer who enthusiastically described the set-up and the core beers that were on offer.  I got a flight of one-third pints (only the single pint, total, as this was roughly the mid-point of a 7½ mile run and I needed to get back to check on something in the lab before heading home) that included the oatmeal stout and the two sour ales — I would recommend all of them but do the Bleeding Heart Numbskull last as it overpowers everything in its path.

 

tap-map

 

 

 

Posted January 18, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Politics, Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “Tap Social, Oxford

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I read the taps (in the photo), I was smitten. I am a sour addict, so this outing makes me jealous with a capital Jell.

    Like

  2. Always enjoy your work and am happy to be part of your growing readership!

    That’s not far from one of my offices, maybe I’ll arrange some “review meetings” nearby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

