Coy Carp, Harefield, Middlesex   3 comments

coy-carp-harefield

 

Five miles into a run up the Grand Union Canal from Uxbridge, I took a break at the Coy Carp.  I got the feeling from the cool reception that I was probably a lot less welcome than the polished and posh families flowing in for lunch so I headed out by the weir to watch ducks.

A family came out and the little boy — perhaps 3 years old –got excited when he saw the terriers the couple near me were tending.  “Duggie! Duggie! Wuff-wuff!” he said then immediately lost interest when he saw the ducks floating around.  The adults chatted a moment then the parental units headed across the bridge followed by the toddler; “bye-bye, duggies,” he said as he passed waving to no one and nothing in particular.

 

coy-carp-harefield-beer

The other side of the pub, by the canal, features some kayak slalom gates and there were tons of fisherman despite a huge sewage treatment facility having an outfall not a mile away.  It was breezy and cool but my short stop wasn’t long enough to let the chill set in.

The sun started to come through the cloud cover and I drank up and returned my glass to the bar (someone needed to show the staff some class).  I headed toward the bridge waving aimlessly as I passed saying, “goodbye, doggies.”  The couple wished me well.

Here’s a map.

 

harefield-at-the-canal

 

Posted February 20, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

