Tree, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire   2 comments

tree-rickmansworth-sign

 

Leaving the Waterside I wondered if all the pubs on this journey were going to be gastropubs (and posh ones, at that).  The Tree was a proper boozer filled with proper pub citizens/denizens.

The Lounge bar was filled with the pub’s football club so I went to the Public bar and found a crowd watching F.A. Cup highlights and feeding a child (of about 6 years) candy.  I sat with the kid’s family (also a part of the football squad) as the kid went into a full-blown Cornholio-like sugar rush.  “You know what would calm him down,” I suggested to one of the old farts pushing gummy treats on the monster, “is a cup of black coffee.”  The dad (or uncle) next to me said, solemnly, “we’ve tried that before but it ended in tears.”

 

tree-rickmansworth-bar

 

I left but doubled back into the Lounge needing the bathroom.  Ten footballers looked at me as I scanned the walls for the door.  “What d’you need, mate?” “Pisser, please.”

“First door on the left,” one answered as all of them pointed to the two doors, one in the hallway and one in the room, on the right. I took the first of these and they all started shouting, “no! that’s the kitchen.”  I tried the other door, looked back and one of the guys yelled over, “yeh, there, first door on the left.”  Inside, the two bathroom doors were Gents on the right and Ladies on the left.  I hope their sense of direction is better on the pitch than it is in their local.

Here’s a map.

 

tree-rickmansworth

Posted February 21, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

