Mount Fish Bar, Coulsdon, Surrey   2 comments

Cooked fresh, my small cod took ages at the Mount but it was worth the wait.

I asked the cashier if there was a bridge over the tracks at the rail station not ¼ from here.  “No, you have to go around.”  I showed her my map and pointed to the sweat blurred area next to the rail station.

“That’s not a bridge?”
“No, there’s no bridge. You have to drive around through Coulsdon.”
“Where do I get a car, then?” She didn’t get it. “I’m afoot,” I added making the international hand gesture for walking.

A moment passed. “Oh, then you should take the foot bridge.”
“What’s the best route for that?” I asked, certain the floor show would continue. Instead of looking at the map or pointing to either of the two roads just outside the shop window, she whipped out her phone.

“Where are you trying to get to?”
“The Smugglers bar.”
The owner interjected, “you need to drive down through Coulsdon.”

“He doesn’t have a car,” cashier informed him. To her phone she said, “get me from here to the Smugglers.”
A moment passed and a map turned up. “It says it will take 4 hours if you drive.”
“That’s the Smugglers in Dorset. I want the one at the bottom of the hill. Just the other side of the foot bridge across the rails.”

“There’s no bridge,” interrupted the cook, handing me my snack.
“I’ll take my chances. Thanks!”

 

Posted May 13, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Fish and Chips, Food

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mount Fish Bar, Coulsdon, Surrey

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: London Outer Orbital Path (Sections 9-6) | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

  2. Its crap since Danny sold this place the new guy who owns it doesnt have a clue !!!

    Now despite living a five minute walk from the mount fish shop I now travel to OLD COULSDON TO GET A DECENT FISH AND CHIPS !!!

    Like

    Pissedofffishandchipshoplover

Leave a Reply

