Wellington, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire   2 comments

I took my Fosters around to the end of the Wellington bar and stripped to my waist then quickly threw on my dry shirt. One guy looked up, bemused.

“Time to put on my Big Boy clothes, dontchaknow?” He turned back to his beer but now the group of four next to him who had stopped talking on my arrival took notice.

One asked, “Have you been…running?”
“Yeah, a bit. A bit.”
“Where you been running from?” he added.
WHO’VE you been running from?” another quipped.
“Hatch End,” I answered the one and, turning to the comedian, “TO, not from…this is my fourth pub on this run.”

They returned to their conversation but one of the guys kept muttering, “‘Atch End, ‘Atch End….” Eventually, he had a Google map and looked up at me again. “That’s miles away. Are you daft?”

“Yes, sir. And, more.”

Remarkably friendly boozer. Do drop in.

Posted May 15, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

