Cock Inn, Cockfosters, London   1 comment

 

Close enough to the end of the run that I could change into my “big boy clothes” or, at least, my dry kit, I ordered a beer and asked for the toilet.  This was probably welcome as I was very dishevelled and probably stinky after a day of work and 10 miles of running in warmer weather than we have been having.  Even then, I felt I should move out of the dining area to the beer garden to leave the horrified and very upscale crowd.

Out there, I found this dragon which makes sense since this used to be called the Cock & Dragon but why that was the case (or why they changed to just the Cock) remains a mystery:

 

 

In the garden, I had a bench to myself and watched the obligatory Friday after work enforced group drinking and merriment.  You see these groups every Friday and most of them would leave a pub they saw one of their compatriots enter if it weren’t for these artificial social norms.

At the table next to me sat about 8 blokes and a woman, all suited and looking and sounding for all the world like estate agents or some similarly grubby yuppie types.  One of the guys had changed to flip-flops at some point after work (I’m assuming) and stumbled away from the table operating his mobile phone and, standing close enough for me to stroke his thigh (I didn’t, but he was so drunk he wouldn’t have noticed), I got his side of a depressing conversation:

Hi, uh, yeah. Are you still waiting there?
[pause]
No. Don’t think so. Maybe we should just play it by ear.
[pause]
Then I guess I’ll just stay here for a half an hour.
[pause]
More?
[long pause]
Then I guess I can stay for a couple of pints. Yeah?
[long pause]
Uh-huh. Uh-huh. Hello? Are you still there?

My guess is ‘no.’

Posted May 16, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “Cock Inn, Cockfosters, London

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: London Outer Orbital Path (Section 16) | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

