Hull-idiz In’T Sun Part 1: Hullspeak   2 comments

I guess I need to explain the title of this post.  I really love regional accents.  In Georgia, you used to be able to make a pretty decent guess (to within a few dozen miles) about where in the state someone was from by listening to them for a minute or so; in Atlanta, you could tell from which neighbourhood they hailed.  Everyone in the States sounds more or less the same, nowadays.

Not so in the UK.  The East Riding of Yorkshire and Hull in particular have an especially lovely tongue, demonstrated on these benches outside the Minerva pub.  While I was there, a Yorkshireman that looked for all the world like Vic Reeves (I’m almost convinced it was him) was harassing a middle-aged couple for not knowing the meanings of the phrases.  He also kept saying to them, “of course y’dunno…yer on yerolidiz.”

So, this big Vic-Reeves-looking-motherfucker points at “Arse In Yer Kirk,” and says “you’ll never get that one.”

I piped in, “ice in your Coke?”

A light cheer came from the others at his table and he turned, looked my way, and said, “oh, your on yerolidiz, too, then?”

“Yup, yup. Molidiz are always like this.”  I meant it like I always seem to be inhabiting an Andy Capp comic, but he’s from up near Newcastle and I didn’t want to start a fight.

So, the rest of this Holiday in Hull (my Hull-idiz) will be spread out over as long as it takes to get the posts out and in as many individual topics as make sense to me.  Enjoy deciphering the rest of the phrases (it helps to say them out loud):

 

Posted May 16, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Made Me Laugh, Tourism

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “Hull-idiz In’T Sun Part 1: Hullspeak

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Moderation, Hull, East Riding | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

  2. Pingback: Polar Bear, Hull, East Riding | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

