Hull-idiz In’t Sun Part 5: Industrial and Commercial Hull   Leave a comment

 

[Note: all the Hull-idiz tourism posts are linked here.]

Hull is sort of contrarian, like the Peoples’ Republic of Bremen but not at all Germanic (which a lot of Germans would also say about Bremen).  This extends to their phone service which is local, not BT, hence the beige phone boxes.

 

 

I like industrial decay: it reminds me of home and when a holiday alone presents itself I usually try to find a place with dead or dying factories and once thriving husks of working class neighbourhoods.  When I explained this aspect of my architectural interests to everyone who snapped, “WHY?” at me when I said I was going to Hull, they assured me I had chosen well.  I found some of what I was looking for but for the most part Hull is doing okay.  But, I have some ideas for trips to some of Hull’s neighbours that might fit the bill a bit better.

 

 

In the centre, there are paving bricks denoting a “Fish Trail” celebrating the city’s tie’s to the sea harvest.

And, you can shop in the sheltered arcades safe from the harsh North Sea weather.  These kept turning up on my walks around town.

 

Posted May 18, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Tourism

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

