Greyhound, Enfield Lock, London   2 comments

 

“Are you here to take our picture?” the wit on the porch intoned.  Wow, these guys are brilliant, I thought.  I’ve NEVER heard THAT one before.  I stopped under the sign, lifted the camera, lowered it, frowned, lifted my glasses and squinted at each one in turn for an uncomfortably long time,

“Don’t think so,” I said as I disappeared through the Greyhound‘s door.

Inside, I waited 5 minutes for a bartender and when she arrived she seemed determined to be unfriendly.  I ordered an AK, McMullen’s flagship brew that I’ve taken quite a liking to since finding this stable of pubs (mostly in Northeast London, Hertfordshire, and Essex as far as I can tell with a few further afield).  It looked okay and tasted first like metal then a bit like mould.  I thought maybe it was just me so I went to buy some crisps to wipe the taste palette clean but couldn’t get any attention — almost as if the staff knew that the real ale lines were only half rinsed of the cleaning solvents (if indeed they have ever BEEN cleaned).

By the time I gave up, I had finished about half of this atrocity and left the rest on the bar.  In an uncharacteristic act of grace, I also left it in the glass.

As I walked back to the tow path to continue my run, I paused and glanced over at the Algonquin ‘Tard Tables, closed my eyes and shuddered, then ran off to the south.

 

 

Posted May 21, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

