London A to Z Runs : N   4 comments

 

N is for the Northern Line termini.  Each segment is at a point on my favourite Underground route where you must exit the train you are on.  Because there are 5 of these, the pub stops needed to be reasonably near and the tourist items of interest found en route.

Some of these A to Z runs are going to be more conceptual than others.

 

 

The first stop is Kennington which was covered in greater detail in the K run.  I hear you: “Kennington continues north and south,” but this is only true on the Bank branch.  I always approach from the Tottenham Court Road side and am rewarded with the bum’s rush announcement of “this train terminates here, all change.”

Turning down Braganza Street to make a looping path to the White Bear pub, I spotted an ornate, 19th-century cornerstone obscured by the street furniture of a shop:

 

 

The other item of interest was the vocabulary lesson.  This street, I reckon, is the first-person past pluperfect conjugation of “to shart.”  You have to love a neighbourhood of language geeks:

 

 

Continuing to Morden for stop two, I paused at the Halalhalal Fish and Kebab place for a delicious treat before dashing through an unusually lovely park on my way to the Surrey Arms:

 

 

There is a history centre with a restored mill complete with water race and wheel:

 

 

And, below the Rose Garden there are some bucolic ponds that would have buffered the mill-race in the working days of the mill:

The longest stretch  went to High Barnet:

The station has some fine detail and smacks of being more than an Underground stop (it isn’t):

 

There is a restored movie palace for the cinema fans here:

 

And, on my trek to the station after a coffee and whiskey at Weaver’s, I came to realise why I so often get lost on segments of the London Outer Orbital Path.  It is a single trail, so why are there 3 directions to choose from?

 

 

Mill Hill was close enough to run to, but the rain was heavy and I still had one more terminus after this so I stuck with the train.

 

 

I wouldn’t call the area singularly disinteresting but aside from the atypically high Jewish population in this bit of NW London (Golders Green isn’t far away) making the kosher and halal shops and butchers on about equal footing (and sharing a customer base in the most liberally minded cases) there wasn’t anything that immediately jumped out as photo-worthy.  Even this observation might be worth revisiting the area but is probably too nuanced for someone who makes poo jokes.

 

 

 

So, the best I could manage was musing if there is a Rose Garden or an Oval Office, here.  Sorry, but after the Red Filly and the three previous I was starting to feel the day’s efforts.

 

 

I ended the trip with terminus #5, Edgware.

 

By now, it was pissing down and I blew past some fairly interesting looking urban ugliness (I’ll be back — this is close enough to home to run over to sometime this summer) on my way to the Change of Hart pub.  Having completed the task for the day, I walked to Canons Park Underground station on the Jubilee Line to take advantage of the shorter commute.  On the way, emerging from the hustle and bustle of Edgware in the torrential rains, I spotted the Cross  — a throwback to when this was more of a sleepy, suburban village and a teeming town:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

