Fox Inn, Keston, Kent   2 comments

 

The plan did not come off.  I was to have a pint and breakfast at a pub just outside the station then have another pub stop at about 3½ miles to sort of spread things out and to stay nourished while I fought the New World Lurgi the wife brought home with her (details in the run write-up).  Now 8 miles in, I needed a break regardless and hoped for the best with the Fox Inn, Keston.  It was just past 11 so I timidly asked if they were yet open.

“Oh yes,” the landlady (I think — family run joint) warmly replied dropping what she was doing to meet me at the taps.  “What can I get for you?”

 

 

Had I been a bit more honest and a lot less grateful I would have said, “first, you can change the channel on the radio.”  Instead, a pint of Sussex Best was all I asked or, really, required.  With each sip (then, gulp) the sweat boiled out of me and the energy that had been flagging a bit returned.

The lunch rush would start soon and a pair of women came in for an early seating.  I was not in a proper state of dress for a gastropub crowd (especially the sort that like the sappy pop emitted from the speakers) but I was still thirsty.  Fortunately, the Greyhound was just across the road.

 

Posted June 1, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

