Crown, Charlton-on-Otmoor, Oxfordshire   Leave a comment

 

My boss held her annual barbecue at her house in Islip, Friday, and I haven’t attended a lab function in ages so felt a bit of pressure to go.  I’ve run to things there in the past (and from things, as well) and, having lived in Bicester a little over a year also had cleared most of the pubs-to-do already, years ago.  So, I decided to catch the train out and do a run to one of those rare pubs I HAVEN’T yet hit in the area, the Crown in Charlton.

 

 

As is my way, I got lost despite having good maps and clear skies.  At one point, a young deer bolted from the weeds and knocked me into some nettles; soon after that I was faced with the prospect of doubling back or fording a stream.  I soon spotted the church tower in Charlton and knew the pub must be close (across the street, in fact) and there I was able to wring out my soaked socks whilst listening to a chorus of retirees taking the piss out of each other.

 

Topics ranged from “On The Buses” to the general election the night before.  The five of them barely let the one speaking finish before the next one stuck his own 2p in:

“Hear, what was the name of Reg Varney’s sister in ‘On the Buses?'”
“Oh, I wish you hadn’t asked.”
“The ugly woman.”
“She wasn’t ugly she just wasn’t…”
“What wasn’t she?”
“Okay, so maybe she was ugly.”
“But, what’s her name?”
“Anna Karen.”
“No, that’s not it.”
Olive, it was.”
“Oh, I thought you meant her real name.”

Despite this Goon Show, I got swept up into the political conversation but deftly escaped for the picnic. Quite a nice house and worthy a second stop, certainly.

Spotted this eyeless bunny with a broken neck on the run to the barbecue:

Posted June 11, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

