The Barking Dog, Barking, Essex   1 comment

 

Pub #1986:

I stepped out of the station and tried to get my bearings for the planned run.  A voice in my head said, “you know what would help?  A pint and a quiet moment or two to get your shit together.”  I am willing to argue with my demons, but sometimes they are perfectly sensible, so I made my way to the bar in the Barking Dog.

 

 

Careful readers should have already busted me for duplicity.  Directly across the street sits the Spotted Dog, a superior pub that predates the Wetherspoons in which I now sat and the name of which the ‘spoons co-opted while undercutting the trade the older pub was doing with the Wetherspoons pricing.

But, the bar starts serving a 9 so what-are-ya-gonna-do, eh?

 

 

Posted November 25, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “The Barking Dog, Barking, Essex

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Barking to Upminster, District Line, TfL Run Project | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.