The Victoria, Bushey, Hertfordshire   Leave a comment

 

Pub #2111:

I was in Bushey for a run, of course, and because there were pubs to inspect.  First up on this trip was the Victoria, primarily because it is on CAMRA’s register of “historically important interiors.”  It’s nice, I’ll grant that, and the bar is well stocked (several interesting ales to choose from).

 

 

Still on my own at home while the wife and brother-in-law plan their mother’s funeral in the mountains of East Tennessee (and, yes, she was dead before they contacted the funeral parlor), my thoughts were with them especially when I spotted the gambling box’s name:

 

 

There appeared to be a steady flow of punters; roughly 20 pints and a few odd orders were pulled but there were never more than four of us plus the bartender inside at any one moment.  Order, chat briefly whilst draining the glass, and fuck off…hey!  Victoria customers!  That’s my gig.  Fuck off, VC’s, I’m working this corner.  [apologies to Doug Stanhope for the paraphrase, there]

 

 

Posted April 27, 2018 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.