The Anchor, Birmingham, West Midlands   5 comments

 

Pub #1999:

After my interview, I was given a courtesy tour of the facilities I almost certainly will not be running then left to my own devices in the waning daylight.  Two pubs away from the 2000th, I decided that now was the time and the Anchor was the place.  Here’s what happened.

 

 

I found the pub easily enough and marvelled at the windows and the lovely edifice.  But, there was another Heritage Pub farther down the street and I thought I would do it first so that I would be heading back into town at dusk.

 

 

The White Swan was similar and a good choice EXCEPT that it appeared to have recently gone out of business.  {Later, when I had access to the Interwebs again, I learned that it just opens at 4:30 and I probably screwed myself out of a grand experience.  Next time…next time.}

 

 

The Anchor, then, was to be my last of the 1xxx’s.  Outstandingly friendly and with the best playlist I’ve walked into in a while (Howling Wolf when I entered, and nothing I wouldn’t have queued up myself the duration of my stay), I felt at home.

But, as I said, night encroached and I wanted the odometer to roll over.  After a lovely pint and a laugh or two, I gathered my map and my interview detritus and headed out.

 

 

 

Posted November 29, 2017 by Drunken Bunny in Pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.